The Pagoda, originally known as the Observatory, was designed in 1890 by Charles H. Latrobe, then Superintendent of Parks.
While known as the Pagoda because of its oriental architectural appearance, the design was intended to reflect the bold Victorian style of the day. From the top of the tower one can view downtown, Baltimore’s many neighborhoods, the Patapsco River, the Key Bridge and Fort McHenry.
Over time and due to natural decay, vandalism, and lack of maintenance funds, the Pagoda was closed to the public in 1951 when the first of a series of partial renovations was attempted. At one point demolition was proposed as an option but thankfully the 1998 Master Plan for Patterson Park called for the complete restoration of the Pagoda. This project was guided by the Friends of Patterson Park, in partnership with Baltimore City’s Department of Recreation and Parks and MANY neighborhood volunteers. Completed in the spring of 2002, the Pagoda now stands as an iconic structure for Patterson Park and Baltimore City and signified the renaissance of the community around Patterson Park. It is also the location of many programs and events, such as PNC’s Concerts in the Park, Audubon’s family programs, Tour Dem Parks waterstop, one of the sites of AVAM’s Kinetic Sculpture Race obstacles, The Friends’ annual Moonlight Pagoda event and much, much more!
The Pagoda is operated, maintained and staffed by The Friends of Patterson Park and volunteers. The Pagoda is open 12 noon to 6 pm on Sundays from mid-April through mid-October.
Interested in becoming a Docent
or helping the Pagoda Team maintain the Pagoda and surrounding gardens? We need you!! Contact firstname.lastname@example.org